Football betting online with Betway

Iran up for AFC Executive Committee post

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Kuala Lumpur, Aug 13, IRNA -- Iran will be among 19 countries contesting the nine seats available for the position of Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Executive Committee member for the four-year term  at the AFC Congress in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.
Mohsen Safeie Farahani, President of Iran's Football Association is heading the Iranian delegation to the congress.
Other 18 countries are Bahrain, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Guam,  Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Japan, Lebanon, Nepal, Oman,  Pakistan, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, The United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Uzbekistan. Brunei has withdrawn from the contest for the post.
Seen, Kuwaiti Asad Taqi's election as vice-president means Kuwait will have to withdraw from the contest for Executive Committee member as required by the election rules.
Meanwhile, Dasmunshi of India has withdrawn from the race for the Vice-Presidency at the AFC.
Dasmunshi cited the need for solidarity in the AFC as the reason for withdrawing from the contest.
His letter of withdrawal was received by the AFC Secretariat on Sunday and endorsed by the Executive Committee at its meeting in Kuala Lumpur Tuesday. Dasmunshi, the President of the All-India Football Federation (AIFF) is a former vice-president of the AFC.
Dasmunshi's withdrawal has paved the way for Asad Taqi of Kuwait, Zhang Jilong of China, Sri Lanka's Manilal Fernando and Tengku Abdullah ibni Sultan Ahmad Shah of Malaysia to be elected unopposed as the four AFC Vice-Presidents.
They will serve in the new AFC Executive Committee for a four-year term starting 2002.
Mohamed bin Hammam of Qatar has been elected the AFC President unopposed.
He replaces Sultan Ahmad Shah of Malaysia. Dr Chung Mong Joon of Korea has been elected unopposed as the FIFA Vice-President.
There will be a contest for the two positions of FIFA Executive Committee member. Vying for this position are Worawi Makudi of Thailand, Abdullah Al-Dabal of Saudi Arabia (both incumbents), Yousef Al-Serkal of the United Arab Emirates and Junji Ogura of Japan.
As in the case of Kuwait, Thailand, Saudi Arabia, Japan and UAE have to withdraw from the contest for the position of AFC Executive Committee member, if elected to the post of FIFA Executive Committee member.
Farouk Bouzo of Syria was elected unopposed as the treasurer.

Comments powered by CComment